Call for nominations: UN Sasakawa Award for disaster reduction

Source(s): United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction

2009 Sasakawa award call for nominations now open

Nominations are now open for the 2009 Sasakawa Award for Disaster Reduction. Nominees should be individuals and institutions from around the world who have contributed to building the resilience of nations and communities to natural hazards through innovative practices and outstanding initiatives. Nominations must be sent to by 18 March 2009.

In its 20th year of being awarded, the Sasakawa Award has been updated to better reflect the Hyogo Framework for Action, to broaden the group of potential nominees, give greater focus to community-based work and advocacy, and to better reward those who produce sustainable results in disaster risk reduction.

The award is now also to be presented biennially, rather than annually. Every two years it will be presented at the Global Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction, and will be next presented in June 2009. As the main global disaster risk reduction forum that brings together representatives from government, UN agencies, civil society, scientific and academic communities, and other stakeholders, the Global Platform is the best forum for promoting the award, the Laureates, and the issues.

There have been some changes to the nomination process and eligibility criteria. All nominees should be sure to read How to apply to find out how their applications will be evaluated by the jury.

Explore further

Share this

Also featured on

Please note: Content is displayed as last posted by a PreventionWeb community member or editor. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of UNDRR, PreventionWeb, or its sponsors. See our terms of use

Is this page useful?

Yes No
Report an issue on this page

Thank you. If you have 2 minutes, we would benefit from additional feedback (link opens in a new window).