Chilean architecture stands test of earthquakes

Source(s): Agence France Presse
Photo by Flickr user alobos Life CC BY 2.0

Photo by Flickr user alobos Life CC BY 2.0

In the past five years, the South American country of Chile has had three huge earthquakes with a magnitude greater than eight, reports AFP. But it is also resilient, thanks largely to its demanding building code. The standard is that buildings must save lives during an earthquake by remaining standing.

Chilean law also holds builders liable for construction deficiencies, giving them ample incentive to make sure their structures are quake-resistant. That means investing in enough steel, concrete and anti-quake technology to last a building's lifetime.


Explore further

Hazards Earthquake
Country and region Chile
Share this

Please note: Content is displayed as last posted by a PreventionWeb community member or editor. The views expressed therein are not necessarily those of UNDRR, PreventionWeb, or its sponsors. See our terms of use

Is this page useful?

Yes No Report an issue on this page

Thank you. If you have 2 minutes, we would benefit from additional feedback (link opens in a new window).