International online conference to address water-related Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) under the COVID-19 pandemic

Online
Organizer(s)
High-level Experts and Leaders Panel on Water and Disasters
United Nations Centre for Regional Development
Asian Development Bank
National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies
United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs

As the world continues to tackle the COVID-19 crisis, the threats of water-related disasters remain as imminent now as before COVID-19. Numerous people around the world have been affected and thousands of people have lost their lives due to water-related disasters, which are increasingly frequent. In light of the current pandemic, competition and complications among disaster risk reduction (DRR) emergency responses and the COVID-19 health care responses exacerbate the challenges and could magnify negative impacts in certain countries and cities.

In this Online Conference on Water-related Disasters under COVID-19, leaders, government officials, representatives of international/UN organizations as well as civil society organizations, and experts on disaster risk reduction, water and health will discuss effective ways to address water-related disaster risk reduction in times of the COVID-19 pandemic. Chaired by Dr Han Seung-soo, HELP Chair and Former Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea, the line-up of keynote remarks and speeches include:

  • Mr Liu Zhenmin, Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs, the United Nations (video message)
  • Mr Masatsugu Asakawa, President, Asian Development Bank
  • Prof. Akihiko Tanaka, President of the National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies (GRIPS)
  • Mr Angel Gurría, Secretary-General of the Organization of Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD): “Water, DRR, and Economics under COVID-19”
  • H.E. Dr Danilo Türk, Former President of the Republic of Slovenia, Chair of the Global High-Level Panel on Water and Peace and Lead Political Advisor of the Geneva Water Hub: “Water and Peace under COVID-19”

Time: Central Europe 8:30 am (CEST, UTC+2), Jakarta/Bangkok 1:30 pm (WIB/TST, UTC+7), Manila 2:30 pm (PST, UTC+8), Seoul/Tokyo 3:30 pm (KST/JST, UTC+9)

Share this
Attachments

PLEASE NOTE: CONTENT IS DISPLAYED AS LAST POSTED BY A PREVENTIONWEB COMMUNITY MEMBER OR EDITOR. THE VIEWS EXPRESSED THEREIN ARE NOT NECESSARILY THOSE OF UNDRR, PREVENTIONWEB, OR ITS SPONSORS.
SEE OUR TERMS OF USE