Subscriptions: RSSEmail

South Africa: National disaster management framework 2005

The national disaster management framework comprises four key performance areas (KPAs) and three supportive enablers required to achieve the objectives set out in the KPAs. The KPAs and enablers are informed by specified objectives and, as required by the Act, key performance indicators (KPIs) to guide and monitor progress. In addition, each KPA and enabler concludes with a list of guidelines that will be disseminated by the NDMC to support the implementation of the framework in all three spheres of government. 

Key performance area 1 focuses on establishing the necessary institutional arrangements for implementing disaster risk management within the national, provincial and municipal spheres of government. 

Key performance area 2 addresses the need for disaster risk assessment and monitoring to set priorities, guide risk reduction action and monitor the effectiveness of our efforts.

Key performance area 3 introduces disaster risk management planning and implementation to inform developmentally-oriented approaches, plans, programmes and projects that reduce disaster risks.

Key performance area 4 presents implementing priorities concerned with disaster response and recovery and rehabilitation.

Enabler 1 focuses on priorities related to the establishment of an integrated and comprehensive information management and communication system for disaster risk management. Comparatively, Enabler 2 addresses disaster risk management priorities in education, training, public awareness and research. Finally, Enabler 3 sets out the mechanisms for the funding of disaster risk management in South Africa.


  • Themes:Disaster Risk Management, Governance
  • Countries/Regions:South Africa

  • Short URL:http://preventionweb.net/go/60361

Tag This Document

Comma separated. E.g. gender events, women

> Log in to view your tags

Email this page


Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015-2030

Documents, tools and processes