South Africa National Platform


The NDMAF is a Technical Forum, established by the Minister for Provincial and Local Government in terms of section 5 of the Disaster Management Act No. 57 of 2002. The Forum is a body in which national, provincial and local government and other disaster management role-players consult one another and co-ordinate their actions on matters relating to disaster management. The Forum must make recommendations concerning the national disaster management framework to the Intergovernmental Committee on Disaster Management (ICDM – political Forum), and may advise any organ of state, statutory functionary, non-governmental organization or community or the private sector on any matter relating to disaster management. The NDMAF meets on a quarterly basis and is chaired by the Head of the National Disaster Management Centre.


The NDMAF is comprised of representatives of the following institutions:

-NDMC in the dplg (Head of the Centre is the Chairperson)
-Department of Agriculture
-Department of Communications
-Department of Defence
-Department of Education
-Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism
-Department of Foreign Affairs
-Department of Health
-Department of Home Affairs
-Department of Housing
-Department of Land Affairs
-Department of Minerals and Energy
-National House of Traditional Leaders
-National Treasury
-Department of Public Works
-Department of Public Enterprises
-SA Police Service
-SA Weather Service
-Department of Science and Technology
-Department of Social Development
-Statistics South Africa
-Department of Transport
-Department of Water Affairs and Forestry [Water]
-Department of Water Affairs and Forestry [Veld and Forest]
-SA Jewish Board of Deputies
-Chamber of Mines of South Africa
-Council for Geoscience
-Development Bank of Southern Africa
-Disaster Management Institute of Southern Africa
-National African Farmers Union SA
-National Nuclear Regulator
-Rand Water Board
-South Africa Emergency Services Institution (SAESI)
-Salvation Army
-South Africa Qualifications Authority (SAQA)
-South African Civil Aviation Authority
-South African Council of Churches
-South African Insurance Association (SAIA)
-South African National Roads Agency Ltd
-Order of St Johns
-South African Local Government Association(SALGA)
-SA Red Cross Society
-Transnet Freight Rail
-The SA National Roads Agency
-Water Research Commission
-The Head of the Disaster Manager of each of the nine Provinces


Department of Water Affairs and Forestry
Share this

Is this page useful?

Yes No Report an issue on this page

Thank you. If you have 2 minutes, we would benefit from additional feedback (link opens in a new window).