Organization

  • Is this your organization?Update your profile

  • Email sent!

    An email has been sent to the email addresses provided, with a link to this content.

    Thank you for sharing!

    OK

THE ORGANIZATION PROFILE IS NOW LIVE!

×

Partners for Resilience

Networks & Other

http://www.partnersforresilience.nl/

Partners for Resilience is a global alliance that started its collaboration in 2010 and continued its work under the strategic partnership with the Netherlands government (2016-2020) and the Eco-DRR programme in partnership with UN-Environment (2018-2021). The alliance consists of about 50 partner civil...

VIEW FULL PROFILE

 

Add Content

Got new content?

Mission

Partners for Resilience is a global alliance that started its collaboration in 2010 and continued its work under the strategic partnership with the Netherlands government (2016-2020) and the Eco-DRR programme in partnership with UN-Environment (2018-2021).
The alliance consists of about 50 partner civil society organisations and their networks, working in hazard prone areas to strengthen people’s resilience in the face of rising disaster risks. The alliance is active at grassroots, national, regional and global level.

Disaster Reduction Goal

Preventing and reducing the impact of disasters on vulnerable communities in ten countries/ four regions
- Central America: Guatemala, Haiti
- Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, South Sudan
- West Africa: Mali
- Asia: India, Indonesia, Philippines

Policies and Programmes in DRR

Partners for Resilience contributes to the resilience of communities by integrating climate change adaptation (CCA) and ecosystem management and restoration (EMR) into Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR). With this Integrated Risk Management (IRM) approach, communities strengthen their capacities to reduce the impact of disasters.

PfR works along three strategic lines: strengthening communities resilience, strengthening civil society, engaging in policy dialogue.

Membership in Key Networks

Partners for Resilience engages with existing networks, and/or is involved in the setting-up of network that work on promoting integrated risk management. PfR does so at country, regional and global level.

Making disaster risk reduction a policy priority, institutional strengthening (HFA 1)

Partners for Resilience believes a community approach will be strengthened if the institutional environment can be made more conducive to climate and ecosystem disaster risk reduction, and they engage with civil society and government actors to apply a combined approach.

Further reading on our vision: https://www.partnersforresilience.nl/downloads/files/Partners%20for%20Resilience%20Vision.pdf

Disaster Risk Reduction Focal Point(s)

CARE Netherlandd - Bart Weijs: weijs@carenederland.org
Cordaid - Karen Stehouwer: karen.stehouwer@cordaid.org
Netherlands Red Cross - Sandra Cats: scats@redcross.nl
Red Cross Climate Centre - Sanne Hogesteeger: hogesteeger@climatecentre.org
Wetlands International - Jeroen Jurriens: jeroen.jurriens@wetlands.org

Partners for Resilience Coordination Team:
- Maren Striker: mstriker@redcross.nl
- Marlou Geurts: mgeurts@redcross.nl

Websites

http://www.partnersforresilience.nl

Update profile

Do you have new information?

  • Netherlands, the

Organization website screenshot

Badges

  • Content partner

Explore Working Areas