Meeting

  • Do more with your content!Discover PreventionWeb Services
  • Print
  • Launch of MAKING CITIES RESILIENT 2030 (MCR2030) 100 Resilient Cities
    C40 Cities Secretariat
    ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability
    International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
    Japan International Cooperation Agency
    United Cities and Local Governments
    United Nations Human Settlements Programme - Headquarters
    United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction
    United Nations Office for Project Services
    World Bank, the
    World Council on City Data


    Date: 28 Oct 2020
    https://www.preventionweb.net/go/73864

    Email sent!

    An email has been sent to the email addresses provided, with a link to this content.

    Thank you for sharing!

    OK

Launch of MAKING CITIES RESILIENT 2030 (MCR2030)

MAIN ORGANIZER(S): 100 Resilient Cities (100RC)
C40 Cities Secretariat
ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)
Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG HQ)
United Nations Human Settlements Programme - Headquarters (UN-HABITAT)
United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR)
United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS)
World Bank, the (WB)
World Council on City Data (WCCD)

Type: Meeting or Conference Date: 28 Oct 2020 Location: Online event

Most of the world’s population will be living in cities by 2050. Cities will be the frontlines to avoid the creation of new risk, reduce existing risk and strengthen resilience, including risks from health emergencies. Over the past ten years, the Making Cities Resilient Campaign has advocated the need for local government authorities to reduce risk and develop urban resilience. 4,348 cities demonstrate their commitment by joining. The Making Cities Resilient 2030 builds on the success and lessons learned of the previous decade of work under the Campaign. New partnerships and delivery mechanisms will be leveraged to focus gradually shift from advocacy to implementation support. 

MCR2030 will be a global partnership of actors with expertise in urban resilience, DRR, climate change and the SDGs.  It will provide a resilience roadmap for cities with defined commitments over time on how to improve local resilience.  MCR2030 will provide a suite of tools and knowledge guidance, from the existing pool with partners that cities can use to better reduce risk and build resilience. It will promote regional networks of partners with strong links and implementation experience so that cities are connected into a movement that can support the implementation of resilience measures. By 2030, MCR2030 aims to have an increasing number of cities committed to reducing local disaster/climate risk and building resilience. 

This event is the launch of the MCR2030, with all core partners demonstrating support to this global partnership, for operation starting from January 2021.

Time: 13:00-14:30 Hrs. (GVA/Bonn Time) 

07:00 Panama | 08:00 Toronto/Washington DC | 09:00 Brazil | 12:00 London | 13:00 Geneva/Bonn/Barcelona | 14:00 Cairo | 15:00 Nairobi | 19:00 Bangkok | 20:00 Singapore | 21:00 Incheon/Tokyo

Event website: https://www.undrr.org/event/launch-mcr2030



Add this content to your collection!

Enter an existing tag to add this content to one or more of your current collections. To start a new collection, enter a new tag below.

See My collections to name and share your collection
Back to search results to find more content to tag

Log in to add your tags

PLEASE NOTE: CONTENT IS DISPLAYED AS LAST POSTED BY A PREVENTIONWEB COMMUNITY MEMBER OR EDITOR. THE VIEWS EXPRESSED THEREIN ARE NOT NECESSARILY THOSE OF UNDRR PREVENTIONWEB, OR ITS SPONSORS. See our terms of use