Virtual Global Platform 2013

An online discussion covering HFA2 issues at the Global Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (GP13)– online discussions start 15 May 2013

Why a Virtual GP 2013?

Aimed at engaging a wide range of stakeholders in the consultative process towards a post-2015 framework for disaster risk reduction (HFA2), a series of dialogues and consultations have taken place over the last few months. These discussions have looked at ‘critical issues and priorities related to urban risk and local governance for disaster resilience,’ ‘integrating disaster risk reduction, climate change adaption and sustainable development,’ ‘the post-2015 development agenda: creating resilience, building prosperity,’ and ‘Stepping up for the most vulnerable.’

The Global Platform on Disaster Risk Reduction from 19 to 23 May 2013 in Geneva, Switzerland, will continue these consultations with the view to moving the reflection on HFA2 forward

Currently, there are more than 3,500 registered participants to the Platform, with more expected to confirm their participation in the days to come. The interest in the Global Platform is growing, in particular the HFA2 discussions. A large number of interested stakeholders are unable, for one reason or another, to attend the Global Platform in person.

What do these sessions hope to achieve?

To enable these stakeholders to actively participate in the HFA2 discussions at the GP13, an online discussion called Virtual Global Platform will be organized by UNISDR where views from participants will be summarized and raised in the informal plenary of GP13. At the same time, previous days’ discussions on HFA2 at the informal plenary will be synthesized and reported back to the mailing list while online views are collected, synthesized and sent back to the informal plenary sessions.

Discussion agenda and structure

The first session will run from 15 to 17 May and will focus on inputs to Stakeholder Consolidation discussions on 20 May and the informal plenary on 21 May 2013.

Participants will be asked to comment on one or more of the following questions:

How do we build on the HFA and yet ensure that we capture and formulate ideas to reduce disaster losses over the next 30+ years?

What are your views on how best to encourage commitment among stakeholders? Whose engagement is essential? What are the most effective and appropriate mechanisms to ensure a new decision-taking model?

There is a need to improve implementation of disaster risk reduction actions within HFA2. What mechanisms, tools or methods would you consider are the best means of creating this enabling environment for DRR implementation, especially at the local level?

The Facilitators will raise the summary of responses to these questions at the GP informal plenary discussion on 21 May 2013.

First Session Deadline -The deadline for receiving comments for the first round is: 17 May 2013 - Friday, 17:00 Geneva time (17 May Friday 10:00am Mexico City, 11:00am NY, 22:00 Bangkok, and 18 May Saturday 03:00am Suva)

The second session will run from 21 to 22 May, and will start with the Facilitators’ summary of the informal plenary on 21 May, and will raise a few relevant issues/questions for discussion by the online participants. The summary of these discussions will then be raised again at the informal plenary on 22 May 2013 by the moderator.

Second Session Deadline -The deadline for receiving comments for this second and final round is: 22 May 2013 - Wednesday, 10:00am Geneva time (22 May Friday 03:00am Mexico City, 04:00am NY, 15:00pm Bangkok, and 20:00pm Suva)

Finally the results of the HFA2 discussion at the GP will be reported back to participants of the list at the conclusion of GP13.

Background Document

All participants are asked to familiarize themselves with the ‘Synthesis report on consultations on the post-2015 framework on disaster risk reduction (HFA2)’

Follow this link

Discussion Archive

See the discussion archive here: